Welcome to
West Bloomfield Township Public Library's
Online Library

Friends of the Library
Home Catalog My Account Read Listen Watch eLibrary Programs Visit About Us

West Bloomfield Township Public Library's Online Library
eLibrary ~ Subject Guides




Research Pro
Search Magazines, Newspapers, Journals, Encyclopedias and eBooks:
Search In:

More Searching Options

Subject Guides

Medical

The latest sources of ways to keep you and your family healthy.

Library Resources: On the Shelves


American Medical Association Complete Guide to Prevention and Wellness
by
2008

Don't Swallow Your Gum!: Myths, Half-Truths, and Outright Lies About Your Body and Health
by Aaron E. Carroll and Rachel C. Vreeman
2009

Women's health for life : written by women for women : symptoms, treatment, prevention
by Donnica Moore
2009

Quantum wellness : a practical and spiritual guide to health and happiness
by Kathy Freston
2008

Eat This and Live!
by Don Colbert
2009

Cheating Death : The Doctors and Medical Miracles That Are Saving Lives Against All Odds
by Sanjay Gupta
2009

You can find more books on this subject @ your library in the section 613 to 613

divider

Library Resources: Magazines

Consumer Reports on Health

JAMA

Fitness

Body & Soul Whole Living

Natural Health

LifeExtension Magazine

divider

Library Resources: Electronic

Healia
Healia

 

Provides a search engine just for health information, filtering out the commercial sites. Relevant results with solid medical information.

 

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Health & Wellness Resource Center

 

Provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center, full-text magazine articles, pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources, and links to selected websites.

 

Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic

 

Presents full-text articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and more.

 

Medline Plus
Medline Plus

 

Brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

 

divider

Online Resources

Oakland County Health Division
The Health Divisions 30+ programs/services focus on preventing the spread of disease; ensuring a safe and clean environment; promoting and encouraging healthy behaviors; preparing for emergencies; surveillance of disease threats; and ensuring accessibility of health services.

Medtipster
Looking to save a little money on your perscription medication? Medtipster can help make saving money as easy as 1 2 3. Use their search engine to find pharmacists that carry generic perscription drugs.

The Harvard Medical School - Family Health Guide
The online version of the well respected Harvard Medical School Family Health Guide provides a wide array of family health topics.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

Most Influential Doctors
This database lists about 5,200 specialists in the treatment of high cholesterol, high blood pressure, diabetes and asthma from more than 300 communities across the USA.

U.S. Hospital Death Rates
USA Today has created an easy to use database allowing users to find out the performance level of any given hospital. Discover the death and readmission rates of three of the most dangerous ailments; heart attack, heart failure, and pnemonia.

divider

Organizations

FamilyDoctor.org
Provides the most up to date health information for the whole family from the American Academy of Family Physicians including videos, medication information, and daily health tips.

Last Updated: March 30 2010

divider

Questions? Comments? Contact Us

e-Newsletter Signup Grow up Reading Literacy Connection Tools


Library Hours:
Monday - Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Main Library:
4600 Walnut Lake Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48323
Phone: 248-682-2120
TDD: 248-232-2292
Fax: 248-232-2291
Westacres Branch:
7321 Commerce Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48324
Phone: 248-363-4022
Fax: 248-363-7243
See map
© 2007 -2010 West Bloomfield Township Public Library