Welcome to
West Bloomfield Township Public Library's
Online Library

Friends of the Library
Home Catalog My Account Read Listen Watch eLibrary Programs Visit About Us

West Bloomfield Township Public Library's Online Library
eLibrary ~ Subject Guides




Research Pro
Search Magazines, Newspapers, Journals, Encyclopedias and eBooks:
Search In:

More Searching Options

Subject Guides

Small Business

The West Bloomfield Township Public Library offers many resources to small businesses and entrepreneurs. Find information on business forms, business startup tips, and online resources containing industry and company information.

Library Resources: On the Shelves


The Social Network Business Plan: 18 Strategies That Will Create Great Wealth
by David Silver
2009

Legal forms for starting and running a small business
by Fred Steingold
2008

Web Marketing for Small businesses
by Stephanie Diamond
2008

The ultimate small business marketing toolkit
by Beth Goldstein
2008

Retire, and start your own business
by Dennis Sargent and Martha Sargent
2008

Put More Cash in Your Pocket : Turn What You Know Into Dough
by Loral Langemeier
2009

Crush It! : Why Now is the Time to Cash in on Your Passion
by Gary Vaynerchuk
2009

Greening Your Small Business : How to Improve Your Bottom Line, Grow Your Brand, Satisfy Your Customers and Save the Planet
by Jennifer Kaplan
2009

The Mocha Manual to Turning Your Passion Into Profit : How to Find and Grow Your Side Hustle in Any Economy
by Kimberly Seals-Allers
2009

Wealth Creation for Small Business Owners : 76 Strategies For Financial Success In Any Economy
by James E. Cheeks
2010

divider

Library Resources: Magazines

Business 2.0

Business Week

divider

Library Resources: Electronic

Associations Unlimited
Associations Unlimited

 

Contact information and descriptions for US and international organizations.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Business Plans Handbook
Business Plans Handbook

 

Search all volumes of this comprehensive collection of sample plans in one click.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Encyclopedia of Small Business
Encyclopedia of Small Business

 

Designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. Contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners, including financing, financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, and human resource issues.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Encyclopedia of Everyday Law

 

Fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Articles include brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations, details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state, and comprehensive bibliographies that include print and Web resources and lists of relevant organizations.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Business & Company Resource Center (was General Business File ASAP)
Business & Company Resource Center (was General Business File ASAP)

 

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

 

Michigan Legal Forms
Michigan Legal Forms

 

Provides a wide selection of state-specific legal forms across the most popular legal areas.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Michigan Online Legal Help Center
Michigan Online Legal Help Center

 

Provides general articles on finding legal help, locating law libraries, researching law and links to other Mighigan law websites. Includes family law, elder law, criminal law, will and trusts and landlord-tenant law.

 

divider

Online Resources

Official Business Link to the U.S. Government
Business.gov, the official business link to the U.S. Government, is managed by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) in partnership with 21 other federal agencies. This website provides links to federal government information and services.

Small Business Administration YouTube Channel
The SBA's innovative YouTube Channel brings you the latest information on programming, government opportunities, how to start and grow a small business and small business success stories.

GreenBiz
Launched in 2000, GreenBiz is the leading voice of the Green Economy. It's mission is to teach companies of all sizes integrate environmental responsibility without compromising profits.

Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center
The Michigan Small Business & Technology Development CenterTM (MI-SBTDCTM) enhances Michigan's economic well-being by providing counseling, training, research and advocacy for new ventures, existing small businesses and innovative technology companies.

Michigan Economic Development Corporation
For any company already in Michigan or considering a location in the state, the Michigan Economic Development Corporation will give users the upper hand with a wide array of economic development tools. Whether expanding, relocating or just looking for help, the MEDC can assist with its one-stop business service.

Penguin Business Beat
Each month, the Penguin Group records a themed business podcast featuring two authors and reviews of classic business books. Episodes are archived so that listeners can catch up on past discussions.

Michigan Small Business
The business directory and search engine for small business in Michigan.

Women's Business Development Center
Each women's business center provides assistance and/or training in finance, management, marketing, procurement and the Internet, as well addressing specialized topics. Users can learn about tips on starting a business, developing a successful business plan and identifying a target market.

StartUpNation
This is a leading business advice and social networking site for entrepreneurs. StartupNation.com offers users invaluable information on the details of owning a business, building a business plan, increasing sales and other resources.

IRS - Small Business Tax Information
The I.R.S. provides short video clips on a variety of topics that are dedicated to helping your small business.

divider

Organizations

The West Bloomfield Chamber Of Commerce
Serving the business communities of West Bloomfield, Keego Harbor, Orchard & Sylvan Lake.

SEMCOG
SEMCOG, the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments, is the regional planner in Southeast Michigan.

Business Basics Workshops (Oakland County Michigan Business Center)
The Oakland County Business Center provides ongoing support and resources to the small business community. View the list of scheduled events.

SCORE
SCORE is a nonprofit association dedicated to small business entrepreneurs. This accelerate website provides tool kits to help educate. Online courses, podcasts, and interactive tools can be found; with a new one added each month.

Last Updated: June 24 2010

divider

Questions? Comments? Contact Us

e-Newsletter Signup Grow up Reading Literacy Connection Tools


Library Hours:
Monday - Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Main Library:
4600 Walnut Lake Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48323
Phone: 248-682-2120
TDD: 248-232-2292
Fax: 248-232-2291
Westacres Branch:
7321 Commerce Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48324
Phone: 248-363-4022
Fax: 248-363-7243
See map
© 2007 -2010 West Bloomfield Township Public Library