Welcome to
West Bloomfield Township Public Library's
Online Library

Friends of the Library
Home Catalog My Account Read Listen Watch eLibrary Programs Visit About Us

West Bloomfield Township Public Library's Online Library
eLibrary ~ Subject Guides




Research Pro
Search Magazines, Newspapers, Journals, Encyclopedias and eBooks:
Search In:

More Searching Options

Subject Guides

Autism Awareness

With the cases of autism steadily on the rise it's important to learn what autism means, its causes, and how this complex communication disorder affects the daily lives of those who have it.

Library Resources: On the Shelves


Autism Handbook For Parents: Facts and Strategies for Parenting Success
by Janice Janzen
2009

Healing and Preventing Autism
by Jenny McCarthy and Jerry Kartzinel
2009

Movie
Autism: The Musical
by
2007

Autism and Diet : What You Need to Know
by Rosemary Kessick
2009

Empowered Autism Parenting : Celebrating (And Defending) Your Child's Place in the World
by William Stillman
2009

Autism Encyclopedia : the Complete Guide to Autism Spectrum Disorders
by E. Amanda Boutot and Matt Tincani
2009

When Your Child Has - Autism : Get The Right Diagnosis, Understand Treatment Options, Help Your Child Succeed
by Adelle Jameson Tilton
2009

The Autism Mom's Survival Guide
by Stephanie Hemenway
2009

Growing up on the Spectrum : a Guide to Life, Love, and Learning for Teens and Young Adults with Autism and Asperger's
by
2009

You can find more books on this subject @ your library in the section 616.85 to 616.928

divider

Library Resources: Magazines

Parents

The New England Journal of Medicine

EP

JAMA

divider

Library Resources: Electronic

Encyclopedia Americana
Encyclopedia Americana

 

Full-text, Web-based version of Encyclopedia Americana. Illustrated with pictures, maps and tables.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Healia
Healia

 

Provides a search engine just for health information, filtering out the commercial sites. Relevant results with solid medical information.

 

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Health & Wellness Resource Center

 

Provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center, full-text magazine articles, pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources, and links to selected websites.

 

Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic

 

Presents full-text articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and more.

 

Medline Plus
Medline Plus

 

Brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

 

New Book of Knowledge
New Book of Knowledge

 

Full text, online version of America\'s first encyclopedia designed especially for kids. Includes pictures, Wonder Questions, and links to web sites evaluated by the Grolier staff.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

divider

Online Resources

Autism
Get the most up to date news and information about autism and its treatment through this popular blog.

MedicineNet: Autism
Learn what autism is, the symptoms to look for, and how it's treated.

NINDS: Autism Information Page
The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke is leading the charge in autism research. Learn what they are doing in order to quell the recent swell of diagnosed cases.

divider

Organizations

Autism Society of America
The primary mission of ASAF is to raise and allocate funds to address the many unanswered questions about autism. Get in touch with the autism community; find a local chapter, learn about the condition, and hear testimonies from those who live it.

Oakland County Autism Society of America
The local chapter of the Autism Society of America helps friends and faimily members learn to celebrate life through various services and events.

Autism Resources - Organizations
Autism Awareness is a global event. Check out these resources to see how autism is viewed throughout the world.

Autism Speaks
Autism Speaks was founded in February 2005 by Bob and Suzanne Wright, grandparents of a child with autism. Since then, Autism Speaks has grown into the nation's largest autism science and advocacy organization, dedicated to funding research into the causes, prevention, treatments and a cure for autism.

Autism One
Autism One is a non-profit, charity organization devoted to the education of families about autism prevention, recovery, safety, and change.

Last Updated: May 4 2010

divider

Questions? Comments? Contact Us

e-Newsletter Signup Grow up Reading Literacy Connection Tools


Library Hours:
Monday - Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Main Library:
4600 Walnut Lake Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48323
Phone: 248-682-2120
TDD: 248-232-2292
Fax: 248-232-2291
Westacres Branch:
7321 Commerce Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48324
Phone: 248-363-4022
Fax: 248-363-7243
See map
© 2007 -2010 West Bloomfield Township Public Library